Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Advice on Tiling Kitchen in the DIY Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Reaction score
Please checkout the following advertisement.
882CFF4B-BF96-4F24-9DFB-0112D2D52555.jpeg
71070BA2-D6C5-40C6-BCD2-DAF57A530100.jpeg
Hi. Hope you can help me with a few things. I’m new to tile and to save myself some money I’m planning to tile a kitchen splash back with light grey bevelled metro tile and white grout.

As you can see I have removed the existing tiles, the skirting board which sits on the worktop (not sure of the correct term for this!) and also the stainless steel backsplash behind the cooker hob. Came off quite easy and not much damage to the walls - just a few holes to fill.

I will tile the wall to the left behind the sink (just slightly higher than the bottom of the cupboards), along the wall behind the cooker up to the cooker hood and the small bit of wall to the right of the cooker to the edge of the work surface.

Do I need to do anything to the walls that have previously been painted in order to help the tiles stick properly?

Where would be the best place to start tile? Behind the cooker in the middle and then work upwards and outwards? I understand I’ll need to first lay out the tiles to make sure the cut offs at the edge are not too slim.

Would I just carry the tile on when I get to a corner or would I be best to start again measuring from the centre and working out towards the edges?

Also how do I tackle the small wall surface on the left in the first photo with the outside corner? I presume it’s best to use an edging strip to cover the edge that sticks out but not sure how these work - Would this simply fit over the bevelled edge of the tile?

What are the options to make the top edge and side edges where the tiles end look finished?