Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss wet room floor advice in the Tiling Advice | Tile Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Chrisjs

TF
Reaction score
Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi All

Great forum, hoping for some advice on a wet room I'm planning.

I need to lay a new subfloor so was going to use 22mm WBP. Should I be leaving gaps between the boards? I was planning to lay ditra heat on top and that mentions using tongue and groove boards instead.

should I lay kerdi board over the ply before the ditra heat?

any advice on a shower former to use with ditra heat?

thanks

F

Flintstone

I think you would be wise to insulate the floor before fitting the ditra heat. I'm not an expert on the schluter system, but @impish uses it a lot

O

One Day

Hi, you can use wbp or t&g boards, no issue with either as long as deflection-free.
Kerdi-board under the ditra heat? I have never used it on floors, despite Schluter claiming you can. It would insulate and help speed warm-up times.
There is Ditra Heat TB now which has a thin thermal layer on the matting - might be an option for you?
As for shower former - I would use Schluter with Schluter so how about Kerdi Shower LS board with a kerdi line drain and tileable grate?

OP
C

Chrisjs

TF
Reaction score
@impish I looked at the the kerdi shower ls but the specs give a height of 32 or 36mm which will give a step up from the ply floor. Any recommended alternatives that will give a level floor?

Thanks

O

One Day

@impish I looked at the the kerdi shower ls but the specs give a height of 32 or 36mm which will give a step up from the ply floor. Any recommended alternatives that will give a level floor?

Thanks

In short - no! At 32mm they can be set flush with joists (if you can get away with sinking the drain assembly at (from memory 80mm) into the centre joist/s.
It's a complete faff but worth doing.