Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Tiling on water resistant chipboard in the Tiling News; Tile News area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi there

I am new to this and I would just appreciate a little bit of advice. I have searched various forums and cement manufacturing companies who claim that chipboard flooring can be tiled on as long as the floor does not move, there are no gaps and that boards are screwed at 300MM intervals. I have looked at Tilemaster ultimate S2 flexible and it does appear to be for this kind of flooring.
The floor does feel quite solid and on top of the chipboard was 8MM plywood which had a vinyl on top. I had to remove the plywood as floor was too high, or would have been. This was cemented and screwed to the chipboard and was a lot of fun to remove !!!!!
I am in a dilemma as I told customer it could be done, however the thickness of the tiles are 9MM and I don't want to raise the floor any more as there will then be a step up to the bathroom.
My only other possible fix is to remove the 18MM chipboard flooring and replace with 18MM exterior grade plywood which would be quite a bit of work for me.
The floor is in an upstairs bathroom and rests on 400MM joists.
Please any help would be great

AliGage

TF
Arms
Reaction score
If deflection free it'd be 6mm hardie glued and screwed.
What do they gave on the floor outside the bathroom that means you're worrying about height? Lino??

Chalker

TF
Arms
Reaction score
9mm no more ply, or the same in insulation board is a minimum on a chipboard type floor.
You will still only have 20mm of build up, which if the customer is having carpet, the level difference will be a few mm .

OP
I
Reaction score