Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Tiling; a new direction? in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

R

RayL12

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hello all :)

My name is er, Ray. I'm in Rochdale, 10 miles north east Manchester, aged 64 and, 'kicked' into looking at being employed for the future. Which, upon reflection, may be better than the option I had planned for this time. Deciding on a future career and my up and coming pension, I took on a level 2 diploma; wall & floor tile course. 3 days a week; 16 weeks. I am in my 6 week and I am learning as we go :)

I have been reading some threads in here and learned from them. I have also read and seen stuff that is daunting, things I feel are years ahead of me. Therefor, I think this is the place to be.

Between 81 and 98 I was a roofer. A slater & tiler with a soul trader until 87 when, I set up for myself and took on design & build. Mainly floor-level flat roof conversions which, were, a satisfying piece of work. Working with lines and profile brought out some nice finishes.

2005 I found myself in hard landscaping. I spent some nice times in scenic areas and waterways. Then there were the times when I was part of large area clean-ups which, were not so pleasant. The recession of 2009 put paid to that. What I had as a pension had to be spent just to stay in my flat. So, now I have to make new plans.