Discuss Laying quartz Tiles in the Adhesive and Grout area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

P

Planespotter

Hi please forgive my ignorance ,im looking for a few pointers with my new kitchen floor,i've taken up the old tiles and chipped away all the old adhesive and im ready to lay my new floor.
I've chosen
MAPEI KERAQUICK RAPID-SET FLEXIBLE TILE ADHESIVE
and
MAPEI LATEX PLUS
Is this correct ??I need all the help I can get as im a complete novice
Any help would be greatly appreciated

T

Tile Shop

Yes that is correct, but if you are a novice, to start with, I would be inclined to measure out the adhesive and additive into smaller batches so you can concentrate on getting it right.

Main thing is to keep the correct ratio between the powder and the liquid so have some scales on hand along with a measuring jug. The last thing you want is to mix up a whole bag, then lay 5 tiles, adjust them to your liking, to find it is beginning to set in the bucket.

Take your time and get it right, because the combination of tiles and adhesive you have is an expensive one to get wrong....... no pressure :)

T

Tile Shop

With the powder that is. Zero water. Have a look on mapeis website and download the tds for both the keraquick and the latex plus. It'll give you the correct amounts on there.

From memory, every application i've seen for the latex plus is that its a substitute for water. Not sure if you can use half and half. What do the quartz suppliers recommend?

Some will say "latex based adhesive" and others will say "low water content adhesive". Going for the 100% latex is by far the safest for either.

P

Planespotter

With the powder that is. Zero water. Have a look on mapeis website and download the tds for both the keraquick and the latex plus. It'll give you the correct amounts on there.