Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Large Format Limestone Wall Tiles in the Tiling Advice | Tile Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

S

Scott Devenish

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Morning - I'm about to start a wet room in a couple of weeks using large format limestone tiles (600x600x20mm) which will be my first time using this size and type of tile.
If anyone has any tips or advice, it would be much appreciated.
These are to be set on the walls, not floor. They are a hefty weight and I wondered if I will need to perhaps allow the first course of tiles to set before moving higher up the wall (if that makes sense?)
Sorry if I sound like a complete newbie (but I am! Lol), I just want to make sure I get it right and don't mess it up. Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
O

Old Mod

Are you prepping the wet room?
Do you know what you're tile on to?
That will have an approximate weight of 60Kgm2!!

OP
S

Scott Devenish

Are you prepping the wet room?
Do you know what you're tile on to?
That will have an approximate weight of 60Kgm2!!
Im removing the existing tiles first, so will only know what the substrate is like once they're off. Possibly have to install backer board?

OP
O

Old Mod

You will need a substrate capable of holding such a heavy tile, Hardie would be suitable.
is it an actual wet room or just a shower with tray?

OP
S

Scott Devenish

You will need a substrate capable of holding such a heavy tile, Hardie would be suitable.
is it an actual wet room or just a shower with tray?
It's an existing wet room - very dated ... See couple of pictures

image.jpeg image.jpeg

OP
S

Scott Devenish

Nope, it's staying ... For now. They've been given the "posh" tiles by a family member from a high end tile shop on kinds road London and waiting to see if they can get some more. So they want to keep the existing old floor for now

OP
O

Old Mod