Discuss Kitchen floor advice in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

A

ArthurTiall

Currently in process of installing new kitchen. Plumber by trade with very little tiling experience.

I have kitchen/diner with the floor makeup being concrete in kitchen and suspended timber in dining room. Overall area approx 25m2. The plan is to use either porcelain or natural stone tiles (leaning towards porcelain) No exact sizes as of yet but probably going to be medium to large tiles.

Recommended by a friend who carries out tiling work regular that 6mm plywood is fine aslong as it's fixed down adequately. I carried out work screwing to timber boards and grip filled the sheets to concrete with additional screws to overcome any slight lips between sheets. After looking on the net for some levelling compound I've seen lots of advice against tiling on plywood and have since heard mixed reviews. The salesman at the local tile shop has strongly recommended I remove the boards on timber and replace with 'no more ply' boards and where these meet with the ply on the concrete (which is now most probably not going to come off) put a meter wide slither of some sort of what looked like foam sheeting. I understand Bonding to ply can be trickier but will it not work aslong as it's been primed correctly? And do I really need to replace the plywood sheets on timber floor with 'no more ply' sheets?

Any advice? Thanks

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I would rip it all up and start again...

Overboard the wooden floor with 6mm hardie backer boards or no more ply glued and screwed down.
Use self levelling compound to bring the concrete floor level or stick down 6mm insulation boards.
When you tile put an expansion joint where the concrete meets the wood.

O

Old Mod

Hi and welcome to the forum Arthur.
You've come on ALMOST in time.
The use of 6mm ply on any install is wrong for so many reasons.