Discuss Just starting out... in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

D

Deleted member 46792

Hello I'm not totally new to this forum as I got some valuable advice on here last year re: tiling my bathroom floor. But subsequently I took a tiling course at UK Pro tiling. It was a really excellent course and covered so much and now I'm looking for my next move. Whilst I have some DIY experience and experience on a short course and a lot of theoretical knowledge, I dont feel particularly confident marketing myself as a professional tiler - because I am not - in order to find some work to get the experience. Chicken and egg type thing. I work as a web developer so I ultimately I should be sorted for online marketing etc. I thought about asking around for work experience but not sure how that would go down. Does anyone experienced in the trade have any suggestions on building confidence, getting experience?

T

Time's Ran Out

Welcome and good luck.
Your situation has been discussed many times on the forum and there is mixed replies.
How do you get experience without doing jobs, and should you be charging for work that you have no experience in doing.
I am not the right person to give advise on this one really as my position is this is a trade and as such an apprenticeship is the only way forward.

O

One Day

I started out from a sales role. Totally no idea what i was doing looking back. I'd done a bit of this and that, thought tiling was easy.
I think my sales skills helped me talk my way into jobs. Then it was a case of making sure i actually delivered the goods. a very tough few first years followed. I earned nothing because i was so slow. Quality always first, speed comes in time.
If you always turn out a good job, then you have as much right to be tiling as a time served tiler in my (inflammatory) opinion!

T

Time's Ran Out