Discuss Hello all, Just dropped in, need advice on adhesives and grout types in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Z

Zoot

(Excuse my mistakes, English isn't my first language)

Moved to Scotland recently, I work in the oil industry. Not a great place to be these days, but am enjoying the cheaper petrol.

I just ripped up all the shower floor tiles in my new house (a small remodelled stone barn) because the grout was cracked and the tile adhesive had decomposed somehow to a powdery paste and were all very loose. They were laid on the surface of a screed covering that overlays the floor heating circuits. I suspect that expansion and contraction over the last 3 years cracked the grout and that water leaked under the tiles but I'm not sure. The shower is in a utility room in a configuration which I think is called 'wet room'. The water falls on the floor tiles or drops from the tile walls to a drain, in theory.

So I wanted to do it all over and took out all the floor tiles, an easy job because 99% of the tiles were loose due to the failed adhesive. I removed all the degenerated adhesive from the floor and the tiles, and am ready to relay the tiles but I'm stuck here. SO.....

If I repeat what the original builder did I'll probably be doing it all over again in 3 years. Is there a special adhesive for ceramic porcelain tiles that adheres to a screed base and is flexible enough to withstand temperature changes from say 10 degrees Celsius to 40 (ish). And is there a special grout that I need to use this situation?

Any advice heartily appreciated...

T

Tilerdurden