Discuss French pattern Travertine in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

craigy

TF
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a beginner starting another room at my home here in the US and want to do the French pattern again. Have unfilled unpolished chiseled stone and the tiles are 8x8, 8x16, 16x16 and 16x24. I understand the pattern but when you add the grout line to two 8's it ends up wider than the 16 it is going next to. What would a pro do? Should i cut off the chisels against the walls if there will be no trim?
I've seen it done two ways, one is what i call fudged, the other had the stone laid tight and grouted the chisels full. I like to see the chisels and want to clean the grout out of them.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Craigy,

Can you not open up the pattern so the grout joints are a bit bigger and can deal with the slight difference?

S

Simon benn Leeds

Hi everyone, I am a beginner starting another room at my home here in the US and want to do the French pattern again. Have unfilled unpolished chiseled stone and the tiles are 8x8, 8x16, 16x16 and 16x24. I understand the pattern but when you add the grout line to two 8's it ends up wider than the 16 it is going next to. What would a pro do? Should i cut off the chisels against the walls if there will be no trim?
I've seen it done two ways, one is what i call fudged, the other had the stone laid tight and grouted the chisels full. I like to see the chisels and want to clean the grout out of them.
Hi

Can you butt (your American you'll probably laugh at the use of butt ha) on a serious note butt the tiles up 2x8s to a 16 and run a grinder down the joint once set to give you the grout line?
We used to have to do this with old Dennis of ruabon quarry tiles!. Some of the 'senior' tilers may remember this?.
And I take it by French pattern you mean French sets?.

AliGage

TF
Arms
Subscribed
Reaction score
Opus pattern.