Discuss Advice On Getting Qualified Please in the Tiling Courses - Tile Workshops area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Good evening to all.

I've been working with a tiler,full time for just over 3 years now. Love my job and we are very busy with a variety of jobs from Kia show rooms to Victorian hall ways etc
The chap I work with doesn't have any qualifications as such (eg nvq2/3 or city &guilds) but does have 17 years experience.
He says I don't need nvq's etc but I would just like to get a few other opinions really.
Id like to learn as much as I can and want to be taught right. I want to do things properly so I can legitimately call myself a professional tiler at some point.

Any feed back would be great

Thanks Danny

W

White Room

If you wanted to go on site as a skilled worker you would need an nvq to get the blue card plus a cscs for H&S which is required on all sites.

Do you have a cscs card working for the guy your with now ?

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply
No I don't have a cscs card as we never do site work with the exception of the Kia garage. We just work for small builders really who do a few houses at a time and big extensions. With a few domestics thrown in for good measure.

W

White Room

Thanks for the reply
No I don't have a cscs card as we never do site work with the exception of the Kia garage. We just work for small builders really who do a few houses at a time and big extensions. With a few domestics thrown in for good measure.
One day you may want to do bigger site works rather than just builders then an nvq would be required.

T

The D